Osuns Bawon

image

Greetings everybody,

Call me Bawon. Upon my entry into this world my spirit spun from the Sun and landed in New Orleans, Louisiana. When my mother attempted to hold me, the heat from the journey and my body burned her, so she dropped me in the mud of the river in Mississippi. Thus my skin cooled to clay and I became man. I wasn’t always Vodun, at least in my young mind I was raised Southern Baptist under my Grandfather, even to the point to where before the age of 13 I was a deacon in the church. Yet with that strong fear of God, I was always a little weird.

Fast forward a decade and some change and at 24-25 I just walked away from the Church’s ideals completely. Surely Mawu-Lisa didn’t give us the right knowledge just to be here. I was bored at work, stuck in my life so I said screw it and picked up Vodun. Now while, Osun is the Orisha I am choosing to reverence while introducing myself. I love you mama. I got some friends on the other side that found me and I heard their calling.

I am not looking to be a teacher. Not looking to be your friend. I just want to show and record my experience and understanding of Vodun with the world as i am, and as a I grow. Please don’t be afraid to knock on my door. Make sure you bring only the finest Libations if you do, my spirits are thirsty. Until the next hour we speak.

–Bawon Aswadee

image

Leave a Reply

